I Know I’m Double-Posting And I Hate Double-Posting Almost As Much As I Hate Double-Denim. But I Am On Hormones So If You Have A Problem With This I Will Personally Come Over And Wee On Your Front Door Mat.

Posted on

I spent the day meowing showtunes.

It sounds odd but I swear to God, replacing song lyrics with meowing is *the* most therapeutic thing you can ever do. Go on. Try it. My recommendations for beginners are Jolene, bohemian Rhapsody and the theme music to Jaws. The more advanced can try showtunes like Oh What A Beautiful Morning, I Could Have Danced All Night, Phantom Of The Opera, and the Time Warp. The higher pitched, the better.

Strangely the dog totally ignores my supersonic meowing, and the cat looks at me like ‘you just called my mother a whore. I will bite your face off while you sleep.’

So, while jacked up on 450 units of Gonal-F per day, for 14 days, which is approximately enough hormones to kill an average sized elephant, I resorted to the highest of high-pitched meowing. It’s a better option than homicide.

So last night lying in bed with James:

Me: Meow-meow, meow-meow, meow-meow, meow-MEOW-OW-OW…
James: Stop meowing Jolene.
Me: If I meow the high-pitched parts of Bohemian Rhapsody, will you back me up with the low-pitched parts? Like the Galileo Galileo bit?
James: No.
Me: *meows Scaramouche-Scaramouche will you do the Fandango with such gusto that I let out a fart*
James: You are an embarrassment.
Me: If I get out of bed and get you a caramel swirl ice cream, will you meow?
*silence*
Me: A high-pitched meow? Just one?
*silence*
James: How high-pitched?
Me: High as you can go.
*silence*
James: Meow

And so I hauled my arse out of bed when it was so cold that the tears nearly froze on my cheeks, and I had to stop, doubled over, stop laughing long enough to go a few more steps. Worth it. So very, very worth it.

24 responses »

  1. I was listening to ‘Don’t Rain on My Parade’ as I read this so I gave it a go. You are totally right, it is great fun.

    Reply
  2. I’m gonna have to try this. I don’t think my husband will be as good a sport as James, though!

    Reply
  3. I do that sometimes when playing Rockband… Meow-lyrics are much more gratifying sometimes 🙂 Okay, MOST of the time.

    Reply
  4. Oh my god. I do this all the time. Family thinks I’m nuts. Pets generally ignore me unless I get a really realistic one in there.

    Reply
  5. Woah 450 is alotta drugs! I can see how meowing is only way to get through it.

    Reply
  6. True story. I have a friend who does this ALL THE TIME. How can there be two of you?!!!

    Reply
  7. True story. I have a friend who does this ALL THE TIME. How can there be two of you?!!!

    Reply
  8. Love that you and James were eating caramel swirl ice cream in bed. Sounds delicious!

    Reply
  9. Okay, tried it on a few of my favorite show tunes (love musicals) – you’re right, very soothing. That’s awesome that you got James to do it!

    Reply
  10. Brilliant! I have found my meowing renditions of I Could have Danced all Night rather spectacular. And James is a great husband. Meow.

    Reply
  11. Missing you.. Hope you are okay

    Reply
  12. Thinking of you… hoping all is well my dear.

    Reply
  13. Europe’s ‘The Final Countdown’ works particularly well 🙂

    Reply
  14. oh hey. i miss you. and i’ve been meowing songs in order to channel your presence. just wanted you to know i’ve been thinking about ya!

    Reply
  15. Hope all is well! I nominated you for a Sunshine Award because you always make me laugh. http://wannareadtotwo.wordpress.com/2013/10/12/sunshine-award/

    Reply
  16. Kate, you are hilarious!! x meow

    Reply

Leave a comment